Not my problem

About a year ago, my best friend from High School called me. We have kept in touch off and on over the years. She lives in another state. We chat on Facebook occasionally, and text every once in a while. So she called me and confessed that her life has gone to shit. She is in a emotionally abusive marriage. I told her I would be there for her, regardless of what she decided to do. We talked about her coming to stay with me and my family for a few weeks while she figured out what she wanted to do. I’m having a hard time being there for her right now. 

She didn’t leave. She stayed and I told her it was her choice. 

For the past year, she has been messaging me, texting me, telling me how awful her situation is, and then posting on FB about her perfect son, her perfect life.

I’m getting irritated and frustrated. 

I’ve been there, I understand the need to let the world think everything is ok. 

I know, sometimes having one friend who knows, helps.

But, I’m having a hard time being that friend.

She posted today that they bought a house.

I’m not sure I can be that friend who knows. It’s too hard, it brings up too much for me. In case you haven’t all figured it out, I have been in multiple abusive relationships. I also have some other issues that make it very hard for me to listen to her and be a good friend. 

How do I tell her I can’t be her go to person, that she needs to find someone else? 

Leave a Reply

